Tags

, ,

IMG_1048

Here I am. On a Saturday. With students as they prepare to compete in the World Affairs Challenge. And I’m thinking about professional relationships.

Specifically:

That space between being myself and making my peers and colleagues feel better.


It took me a long time to find my voice – who I really am. Not who others wanted me to be. Not who others saw me as. Not the personalities I cultivated while in high school and college to cope with my insecurities and fundamental lack of self. While I discovered my self, I began to discover my voice as an educator as well. I am more comfortable in who I am and what I believe, but I still struggle. Mostly, I often wonder how I am supposed to act in my professional spaces.

Often acting on who I am and what I believe creates clashes with others.

For the past several years, this truth has become quite painfully clear.


I really like myself (seriously) – who I am, what I believe, my strengths, passions and even my weaknesses. And that only exacerbates current conflicts with several key relationships.

I understand that positive relationships are the single most important element in productive educational spaces. But I also know that being true to myself is the most important element for my personal happiness and successes.

When do I temper the real me when it might create conflict with a colleague? Where is that line?

 

 

 

 

